My customer reviews

In business since 1984, I have a LOT of happy customers

Having been in business since 1984 as Robert Hughes Garden Landscaping and Construction, I have a LOT of happy customers, many of whom are repeat customers for all aspects of their hard landscaping needs.

This website is a dedicated site for my mini garden digger and driver hire service, but my business name is Robert Hughes Garden Landscaping and Construction. Here are the reviews my wonderful customers have left me over the years.

The Mini Garden Digger and Driver Hire Guy IconThe Mini Garden Digger and Driver Hire Guy

33 Park Avenue, Little Paxton, Saint Neots

5.0 11 reviews

  • Avatar Jo Bruton ★★★★★ in the last week
    Amazing job from Rob – he got the digger through a narrow opening and tackled the job with ease. The rake on the digger has sieved through everything so well and left me with amazing quality top soil!
    He was professional, friendly and arrived
    … More on time. Would 100% recommend Rob for any job that you need doing!
  • Avatar Irene Baldwin ★★★★★ a month ago
    We would have no hesitation in using Roberts Digging services again. Reliable, polite and quality work!
  • Avatar matt mcginty92 ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Rob (and his mini digger) helped us remove a number of tree stumps, roots and levelled the garden. Rob is a great worker with a vast amounts of knowledge and experience. Would highly recommend.
  • Avatar Nick ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Rob:
    -called me straight back
    -fitted me into a gap he had the following day
    -turned up on time
    -was *very* knowledgeable
    -had good ideas and suggestions
    -was friendly and pleasant
    -completed the job to high standard
    Excellent value, thanks
    … More Rob!
  • Avatar Ross Davies ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    Rob did a great job digging out our bamboo roots. arrived when he said and did a clean job. Will use him again.
  • Avatar Philip Wainwright ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Robert went the extra mile to complete our patio to a very high standard.
    We are delighted with his work and would recommend him to anyone.
    We are already booking him in for more work.
    Thanks again Rob
  • Avatar Rebecca Stewart ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    Superb start to finish. Clear about price (which was competitive) and efficient hard worker. All done as promised in time set. Thank you!!
  • Avatar Christina Downend ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Rob took very good care of getting the mini digger in and out through our neighbours property, there is no trace of it. His mini digger skills are fantastic and we have exactly what we were looking for in our garden. He's also full … More of knowledge and experience that helped us decide the design of the garden. Rob is very easy to get on with and lovely to work with. I cannot recommend him highly enough.
  • Avatar Lynn & Steve ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Rob managed to complete 20m of trenching for a new hedge; stump removal, levelling and digging a new soakaway hole, trenching for driveway drainage and even fitted in two massive tree planting holes, all in a day! He is prompt, personable, … More knowledgeable and very skilled with a mini digger. Don't even think about renting one and doing it yourself, call Rob.
  • Avatar Charles Ash ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar Kris White ★★★★★ a year ago
    Arrived on time. Did a hard days work in bitterly cold conditions and to the required standard. Thanks.
  • Avatar Grant Harvey ★★★★★ a year ago
    Robert was totally professional from start to finish and did a fantastic job digging out our patio. Nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend his services.
  • Avatar David H ★★★★★ a year ago
    Excellent job done by Robert in near artic conditions. Would have no hesitation in recommending or using his services again.
  • Avatar Neil Sperring ★★★★★ a year ago
    Rob is the gold standard when it comes to professional workmanship. We have used Rob's services on two separate occasions to remove extensive amounts of bushes and conifer trees - no easy task. On every occasion he has been the consummate … More professional, always ensuring attention to detail and delivering the work to exacting standards. Rob comes highly recommended and we look forward to inviting him back for the next phase of work.
  • Avatar Anthony Garside ★★★★★ a year ago
    Robert was a very skilled driver and took care and pride in his work. He was helpful as the work progressed and completed a first class job
  • Avatar Jae Alexander ★★★★★ a year ago
    From the very first phone call I could tell that Robert was the right person for the the job. I wanted to have a large natural pond in the garden and he was so enthusiastic about the project. He arrived promptly and did the job brilliantly. … More He really went the extra mile for us and we couldn't be happier with the outcome.
  • Avatar Eleanor Jenkins ★★★★★ a year ago
    Rob responded promptly when I got in touch and was very helpful. He arrived promptly with his digger and worked really hard for the day levelling our garden and moving a number of trees. He was reasonably priced, full of useful advice, … More worked really hard and we achieved a lot more with the digger for the day than we would have achieved on our own in the day. I would recommend working with Rob.
  • Avatar John Ranelagh ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Rob is simply excellent! Polite, hardworking, intelligent, and with advice and concern for our wishes. An all round Good Fellow who can be heartily recommended.
  • Avatar Ron Wallace ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Having engaged Rob's services before, we had no hesitation in using him again and asking him to extend our patio. As we expected would be the case, he did a fantastic job and we are delighted with the end result. Thanks again Rob, … More you are a true craftsman.Ron and Sharon WSt Neots
  • Avatar John Ranelagh ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Rob is excellent, as is his work. Cannot recommend him enough!
  • Avatar Lee Cornwall ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Rob was very friendly and did exactly what I wanted. He provided extra advice and knew straightaway what I wanted to achieve. Even Ronnie Pickering would have been pleased. Thanks for your help with my garden project.
  • Avatar Mike Draper ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Rob installed some additional fence panels and posts and widened our driveway at the front of our house to ease access. This not the first time we have used Rob Hughes and we have always found him to be very friendly, an expert in his field … More and any issue or design complication were always overcome without any drama or unreasonable price changes. Rob completed our work on time and under budget to an exceptional standard.It is disappointing to see that someone has left Rob a negative review recently, this does not appear to be an honest account of him, his work or work ethic, as for complaining about him asking to use the toilet a couple of times per day when they are working for you, that's simply very petty - a portaloo may be appropriate on longer jobs, but the cost of hiring, delivery and collection of one would have made the quote for their job so inflated that the job wouldnt have been accepted. As for drinks, in my opinion it is just polite to offer people working for you a hot drink every couple of hours, especially when in Winter. These people must find it difficult to breathe when so high up on their horse looking down.
  • Avatar John Draper ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Rob done our driveway earlier in year, absolutely brilliant job, he suggested what stones would best match the house etc, showed examples and we couldn't be happier with the result.
  • Avatar Nicky Newman ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Rob's a fantastic guy, very personable and very helpful. I would definitely recommend him - I will certainly call on him again if needs be. One of those people that goes the extra mile to help!
  • Avatar Gillian Hockley ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    We waited a few months until Rob was able to start re-modelling our garden incorporating an extensive patio, garden path and front parking area.....and we are so glad we waited patiently for the right man.He is a delightful person to have … More around, is totally trustworthy and does a superb job.The quality of his experienced workmanship and his attention to detail is second to none, and Rob has our unhesitating recommendation.
  • Avatar Barbara Hill ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    We contacted Rob when we recently moved into the area. We needed a shed base for our garden. Rob responded immediately even though he was on holiday. He came to our house on his return to quote.Accepting his quote he went out of his way … More to fit us in and worked to get it finished prior to our removal men arriving.He is such an easy person to work with, knowledgeable, giving us advice on plants as well as being a craftsman.We would recommend his work and we are so pleased that we have found such a reliable person.His assistant Gareth was great to work with too.Thank you Rob!
  • Avatar Rachel Chico ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Couldn't recommend Robert enough. He did a fantastic job and the service from start to finish was amazing. Such a nice guy too - he laid a lawn for us. He then lent us his own sprinkler so that we could water it in. He'd actually … More finished the job but travelled back to hook it up for me as I was at work. Good old fashioned care about what he does!
  • Avatar Craig Osgerby ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    We used Rob to come and level out our rear garden and remove a large concrete path. Rob did a brilliant job, worked hard and completed the work in a day. As this was part of a DIY job, Rob was more than helpful with tips and advice along … More the way. We found his prices extremely competitive and would highly recommend Rob for future projects.
  • Avatar Liz martin Calendar ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Robert responded quickly to our request and submitted a very competitive quote. We were delighted with his enthusiasm and dedication to go above and beyond despite torrential rain. He understood what we wanted and used his knowledge and … More expertise to make our vision a reality.He dug out a large pond and several large ( enormous roots) bushes.Highly recommend ( indeed already have to my best friend). Drop by for a bacon sandwich anytime Robert
  • Avatar Ed Riches ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    From responding quickly to my enquiry that I did via his website to the quality of the work that he did was nothing less than first class. Whilst my outside project was not the biggest or probably not the most exciting project to undertake, … More Rob did a fantastic job. I cannot question his professionalism and the price quoted was very competitive against the other quotes that I got. I would not hesitate in recommending Rob to anyone and should I have a need to use again, I would not hesitate to contact again. Thanks Rob!Service: Exterior decorating
  • Avatar Jonathan Banting ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Rob (helped by Gary) has totally transformed our garden - front and back.Rob takes great care with his work and it shows in the quality of the finished drive, paths and patios Excellent value which makes him much in demand .
  • Avatar Nigel Battey ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    Rob came recommended to us to undertake the job of block paving our driveway and he absolutely lived up to that recommendation. We are delighted with the final result and the drive has already been much admired by friends and family. He … More takes a genuine pride in doing a first rate job with no short cuts. Rob worked with his son Ryan on our drive. Both were great blokes, who also loved a steady flow of tea and a good chat every now and then to keep them going. We would absolutely recommend Rob if you're considering having your driveway block paved. Many thanks Rob (and Ryan)!
  • Avatar Adrian Wagstaff ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    Rob with the help of his son Ryan laid us a block paving driveway with a sweeping path. They worked so hard through the hottest days of the year and the quality of the work is very high!Lots of our neighbours have commented on how good … More the front garden now looks! I have enjoyed planting up the flower boarders and look forward to seeing the results next spring!We would recommend Rob to anyone, a great guy who loves his tea and does a brilliant job!
  • Avatar simon pritchard ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    Rob has just completed a new drive and several paths and patios for us and the results are brilliant. We already had a very established garden, full of plants and trees. Rob helped us design a new garden that incorporated the existing planting … More with a sunken circular patio plus new pathways and other patio areas. At the front of the house Rob has built us a new drive which incorporates areas that were previously planted plus the area slopes in several directions. We could not be more pleased with the results. Rob is a true craftsman and his attention to detail is second to none. Rob also advised us on the materials that are available and together we have selected those that really enhance our home and garden. Throughout the whole process Rob has been totally reliable, to the point that we left him our house keys whilst we were on holiday. During the work, the site was always left very tidy overnight and Rob was very considerate of our neighbours who access their property over a shared drive. Rob's work is faultless and I'd have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone looking for the highest quality finish.

U

Loading a skip with my mini garden digger

A customer-shot video showing me quickly loading a skip with soil using my mini garden digger.

For this job I had dug out many tonnes of soil for a new driveway, and the most efficient way of doing it was to dig out the soil with a medium-sized toothed bucket and pile it up as I went, and then quickly load all the soil into the skip using a much bigger bucket. This also saved the customer the cost of a labourer to run the wheelbarrows to and from the skip!

U

Grab lorry removal of a huge pile of earth and rubble

This video shows a grab lorry taking away a massive pile of earth and rubble dug out using a mini garden digger.

Dug out, piled up, taken away, and swept up – all achieved in one day!

Have a DIY garden project in mind?

Let’s chat!

Let's chat! Get in touch to discuss your project

Click or drag files to this area to upload. You can upload up to 10 files.
Upload any photos you have of the garden and access